VP Search Updates

Friday, September 12th, 2014

Dear Colleagues,

As you know, in the coming months we will be engaged in a process to recruit and hire for the position of Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and the position of Vice President for University Advancement/President of the UNI Foundation. I am pleased to announce that we have completed committee membership for both of these searches.

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
John Johnson, professor of history, has agreed to chair the search for the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs. Search committee members are:

Melissa Beall, professor, communication studies

Jennifer Cooley, associate professor, languages and literatures

Belle Cowden, director, continuing and distance education

Chris Cox, dean and professor, Rod Library

Kevin Gartman, president, Northern Iowa Student Government

Diana Gonzalez, chief academic officer, Board of Regents, ex-officio

Latricia Hylton, math coordinator, Academic Learning Center

Julee Jacobson, office coordinator, health, physical education and leisure services

Bingqing Liang, assistant professor, geography

Marty Mark, director, administration and finance technology services

Farzad Moussavi, dean and professor, College of Business Administration

Hilery Oberle, director, corporate and foundation relations

Steve O'Kane, professor, biology

Nick Pace, associate professor, educational leadership and postsecondary education

Gerald Smith, professor, accounting

Robert Smith, executive director, Educational Opportunity Programs and Special Community Services

Jason Vetter, instructional designer and tech coordinator, Information Technology Services

Kristin Woods, assistant dean of students/new student programs

A website for this search is under development and will be published in Inside UNI when it is live.

Vice President of University Advancement Search
Patricia Geadelmann, special assistant to the president for board and governmental relations, and Dave Mason, chair of the UNI Foundation Board, have agreed to co-chair the search for the Vice President of University Advancement. Search committee members include:

Brenda Bass, dean and professor, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Jan Bittner, UNI Foundation Board

David Boyer, UNI Alumni Association Board

Troy Dannen, director, athletics administration

Lisa Frush, employment manager, Human Resource Services

Jeffrey Funderburk, professor, School of Music

Noreen Hermansen, vice president, UNI Foundation

Cassie Luze, senior director of development, UNI Foundation

Joyce Morrow, director, financial aid

Doug Mupasiri, department head and professor, mathematics

Randy Pilkington, executive director, Business and Community Services

Leslie Prideaux, director, alumni relations

Jeremy Rosel, UNI student

Dave Takes, UNI Foundation Board

We encourage each of you to be involved in both recruiting strong candidates and participating in the sessions that will be available on campus as we move through both processes. These are key leadership positions for our university and we look forward to your input and assistance. 

Thank you,

Bill Ruud